- Edit node
It's possible to edit node only if it was added manually. Auto discovered nodes are not editable.
- Delete node
As the name implies, you can delete node with all related data, including existing backups.
- Protect node
If node is marked as
protected, it won't be deleted by inactivity (read more about purging inacitve nodes in paragraph 3. Nodes lifetime)
- Backup now
Enqueues request to retrieve and save configuration right now.
On the left you see node general information retrieved during the discovery process via SNMP protocol.
All information is readonly, except for:
Prepend location, that represents prefix for location OID. This prefix can be set in system configuration. In each node you can define it's own prefix which will override the default one.
Credentials, that can override authentication data for this particular node if default authentication path via devices/subnets does not satisfy your needs.
The table below by default shows only one tab - actual configuration backup data. New tabs are added via plugins (e.g. 'geolocation'). Configuration backup can be viewed online, downloaded, copied to buffer (button
copy becomes available when full configuration text is opened) or checked for changes. Changelog for node configuration is represented by
git log diff functionality and looks the same. To track configuration changes, press button and in the opened popup press to view what has been changed. By default, only changes in last 31 days are shown (value can be set in system configuration).
- Please note, that "History" for node configuration is available only if "File storage" is set as target for task
git_committask is active in the schedule and is performed after the backup.
- To see history for particular configuration file right after "Backup now", finalize the backup process by commiting changes to Git (press icon on
Related information and subinterface management¶
Tabs on the right side contain related logs, data about subinterfaces (you can change primary interface for the node if needed), assigned tasks and authentication data.
Subinterfaces are alternative interfaces on particular node. There're several actions available for each existing subterface: you may want to
set interface as primary or
add it to exclusions. If subinterface is already excluded, it will be marked with next to its' address. Setting interface as primary is the operation of changing node primary address. If subinterface does not belong to node's subnet, you will be prompted to choose new subnet right after pressing . The subnet list will be loaded to the same dropdown where actions were before.
If any network contains node(s) you want to exclude from processing by cBackup, use
Nodes -> Exclusions menu to manage exclusion list. In exclusions list under control element you can see node detailed information if device was previously discovered.
Node with IP from exclusions' list will not be discovered nor processed by any tasks in Java daemon
Add new node manually¶
You can add nodes manually, not involving network discovery process. To do so, use
Nodes -> Add manually menu and fill up the form. Prior to adding new node manually, make sure you have corresponding suitable credentials set saved in Credentials page.
- Enter IP-address and choose corresponding credentials from dropdown list.
SNMP inquire. If SNMP polling works, form will be filled with retrieved data. Otherwise the error will be displayed.
- Edit or fill up necessary data and save the node.
Add nodes automatically¶
To search and update nodes in the particular subnets, you want to go through Discovery process.